tdf update

Tonight is the last ‘race stage’ of the Tour this year. It is a time trial and my favourite, Andy Schleck, is not a good time trialist.  I have fully embraced the new Luxembourg team Leopard Trek as my own, and currently they have riders holding first and second place in the GC (General Classification).   But if they don’t make good time tonight….

The last few nights have been extraordinary as the riders have raced through the Alps. One of my favourite moments was seeing Eddie Merckx (a 5 times Tour winner and all round lovely man) yelling encouragement to Andy Schleck as he struggled up Galibier (2645 metres above sea level).  And to see it work. That a few words of encouragement helped Schleck kick it up another notch and he won the stage and made it to the top of the GC. Amazing. Just amazing.

 

I am still loving CrayonFire’s illustrations of the Tour. It is becoming very hard to choose which one I like the most.  I am waiting to see what the stage up Galibier looks like, I’m sure it will be fabulous. 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

