essay

I am attempting to write an essay at the moment (obviously not going so well as I am totally distracted by this and other equally diverting websites).  It is a great essay topic and a great class, but I am finding it difficult to focus.  One of the reasons for this is that the essay is only 2500 words but I currently have 32 pages of typed, single-spaced research notes.   I don’t know what to do with it all.   I love the research element of writing essay’s.  I love finding obscure scholars, old and new.  I love discovering a new perspective on an old idea.  I love stripping back a topic to its bare basics and building it back together and seeing it look totally different to what I started with.  I love learning.

So the moral of the story is – just get on with it!

The class is: Theology, Mission and the Care of Creation

The essay question is: How does a ‘care for creation’ theology fit into a missiological context?  Discuss this relationship between ecology and the theology of salvation, taking into consideration how this affects the mission of the local church.

If you are even vaguely interested in the topic, any of the following are worth checking out:

Berry, R. J. (2003). God’s book of works. New York, NY: T & T Clark 

Bouma-Prediger, S. (2001). For the beauty of the earth. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic

Jenkins, W. (2008). Ecologies of grace. New York, NY: Oxford University Press

Moltmann, J. (1985). God in creation – an ecological doctrine of creation. London, UK: SCM Press

Sider, R. J. (2005) Rich Christians in an age of hunger. Nashville, TN: Thomas Nelson

Wright, N.T. (2007). Surprised by hope. London, UK: SPCK

Leave a Reply

