common ground

Sometimes you meet people and it is difficult to find the common ground between the two of you.  Sometimes there is but a small crossover of ideology or interests or passions.  It is not a negative reflection of you or them, it’s just difficult to find common ground between you.

And then sometimes the common ground is vast and beautiful and beyond reason. 

I had breakfast this morning with three spectacular girls who I adore and it was a special treat for the four of us to get together. 

I savoured every second of it.     

These girls are honest and kind, beautiful and gracious.  Being near them breathes life into me and inspires me towards what I know is true and right.  

I have known these girls for over ten years and there is always the risk of growing apart.  But I think that I can safely say, this side of 10 years, that we will grow old together.  And the loveliest of things is that the common ground gets greater and firmer with every year.  For some reason, despite different interests, abilities and stages in life, it feels like our friendship gets better and deeper.     

I find it quite extraordinary that my life is full of these lovely people who speak truth and grace in necessary and equal quantities. 

I am sure there will be many more breakfasts to come and I am so unbelievably grateful for that. x

Leave a Reply

